Simple Math…

I’m not terrible at math. In fact I was in advanced math and science classes up until the point where I entered my junior year of college. So, I sometimes like to do little math problems (but not like dividing the bill at a restaurant… why is that always a pain to do?)

So I decided to count up the amount of words I wanted to write this year. I did that by adding up all of my projects and how many words (roughly) I thought each would take. My total came out to 153,000 words.

That’s a lot of words. When in the world am I going to be able to write all of that?

Well, that’s when I decided to divide that terrifying number (which really is not that bad to be totally honest…) by 365 to see how many words a day I would have to write in order to reach that target.

420 words a day.

Wow, that’s not so bad at all.

Breaking things down into more manageable chunks can really help to make writing something seem a lot less intimidating. Here, let’s break down some general word counts:

100 words ┬áto 1000 words- Micro/Flash Fiction (NOTE: some people keep micro fiction as 100 words or less and flash fiction as 750 words or less. Check guidelines for specific publisher’s views on that)

1,000 words to 10,000 words- Short Story (Again, check guidelines for specific publishers)

10,000 words to 20,000 words- Novellette

20,000 words to 50,000 words- Novella

50,000 words to 100,000 words- Novel

Now, these are just estimates and every publisher probably has slightly different views on word counts. But let’s say you decide you want to write a novel… that’s 100,000 words! But, if you divide that… it’s only about 250 words a day for a year. That’s not so intimidating at all.

See? Math isn’t all bad.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,787 other followers

