But is it organic?

Every time I try to start eating healtheir, more fruits, and veggies, walking and running and yadda yadda it always turns out that I then feel guilty because I’m not doing enough. Maybe I’m eating veggies but are they from my local farmer AND organic? Am I juicing and meditating? Well then I’m not doing it right because I should be doing it better.

 

I get disappointed, and slide off back into the land of mac and cheese and french fries for every meal.

This always makes me think about writing, I get on a streak, writing every day and I’m proud of myself but then invariably I see someone writing more, doing more and I start to slide, thinking why am I not doing more? I start to feel lazy, and unproductive, and from there it’s easy to start slacking on my words, and projects.

Depression creeps in, and I start writing less and less because I feel like a failure because I’m not doing it ‘right’ whatever the hell that is. I worry about the ways I could be doing better and end up doing nothing for fear of not getting it right.

I still fight with this feeling, with eating healthy, and with writing. When I do something, I like to do right, and perfectly. But slowly, I’m starting to realize that I can’t be perfect and great at everything. I can find what works for me, and stick with that. Reading advice and tips that have worked for other people might help, but at the end of the day, I have to live with me and what I’m doing whether it works for someone else or not.

Some things that have worked for me:

Calendar with stars

Shiny stars!!

Keeping track of my daily word count. Every litle shiny star represents 1000 words written that day. It’s a little grad school, but it’s great looking at the calendar and seeing all those stars and knowing they represent words written!

 

CHECK BOXES!

CHECK BOXES!

I love to-do lists so putting my writing goals in a to-do list format is awesome! I really love this app Wunderlist┬ábecause it syncs across all my devices, and you can seperate everything into seperate lists and add sub-tasks. (PS now you can see what I’m working on, exciting!)

 

So those are just a few things that work for me and make me feel like I’m getting stuff done. What are some things that work for you whether they’re ‘organic’ or not?

1 Comment »

  1. Laura W. Said:

    You know, the to-do list app looks helpful. Maybe I can do something like that. I use an Excel doc when planning and when tracking my wordcount. Perhaps I should start an Excel doc to keep track of all projects, including reading, writing, blogging, and reviewing. I always struggle with keeping track of everything, to the point where if I’m working on one project but not another, I still feel guilty even though I am making progress on what I’m doing. But, like you can still overeat on healthy foods, you can attempt to do too much at once and burn out.

    (And I know it’s terrible, but I only really care if my meat is organic. Vegetables I’m less fussed about, but I’d really rather buy from the local butcher if there is one.)


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,867 other followers

