Some of my writing.

NaNoWriMo goal is going well though I am probably going to stop updating so much about it. Not that I’m ashamed I’m participating, I have a blast and love the thrill of writing 50,000 words in a month, but because as a writer I should already be writing everyday as much as I can.

I’m also planning on contacting one writer I admire a week to tell them how much I enjoyed their work. Writing is a lonely road and it’s nice to let people know that there really is someone out there reading their hard work. On that note I have had a few e-mails, twitter messages, etc. asking me to put up some of my own work.

 

I always worry about putting my work online, especially anything that hasn’t been published. Many places will consider something being posted online as previously published (or so several submission guidelines have told me) so I’m going to put up a poem of mine that was published this past year. I do consider myself somewhat of a horror poet so if you have an issue with horror then please ignore the poem at the end of this post. (These are not the droids you are looking for. Anyone get it? 🙂 )

Enjoy and keep up the writing!

Onus

When my daughter
asks about the dog
lying on the side of the road,
I will tell her he is sleeping
with his skin inside-out
because it’s too hot
in the Georgia sun
to dream
with your skin still on.

In the morning
she will confess
her dreams
of finger painting
red and white
across her bedroom wall.
No matter how hard
she and I scour
the spots remain
speckled all over
our hands.

Published in The Peacock’s Feet Literary Journal, 2010

11/5/10: And, by the way, just noticed and corrected a typo in this poem. Whoops! Silly typos!

18 Comments »

  1. Amie Kaufman Said:

    I absolutely love that poem. It's gorgeous, as somebody else obviously already recognised, if it's published.I think contacting authors is a fantastic idea. I recently tweeted one of my heroes to let her know I'd just finished a book and was in love with it, and she responded to thank me and say that this is exactly why she writes. It was a lesson for me in the ways in which my opinion matters!

  2. Judy Black Said:

    I love contacting writers and just seeing how excited it makes them. I tweeted about how one of my favorite Chapbooks, The Collectors by Matt Bell, was amazing, and somehow my tweet got back to him and within minutes I had a thank you from him. Made my day and his!

  3. Hi Judy! I found your blog by way of Twitter — first thing I noticed was you are a writer, second was you live in GA. I'm a fellow GA writer and wanted to say hello :)This poem is haunting and beautiful. I read it through twice and still haven't had enough. Off to read it a third time.Stop by my blog anytime — door's always open:One Significant Moment at a Time

  4. I'll be waiting for your contact this month 😉

  5. Judy Black Said:

    Hi Nicole! Glad you stumbled upon me! I love twitter far too much for my own good!And I'm really excited to meet a fellow GA Writer! Sometimes I swear we are an endangered breed!I'm working on it Sascha! 🙂

  6. kaykuala Said:

    Love your poem. Wouldn’t it be fair to allow sleeping dogs to lie.

    • Judy Black Said:

      Thank you so much! I’m so glad you love the poem, that gives me the warm fuzzies! (I’m just a little bit silly in case you haven’t noticed)

  7. brian Said:

    wow…the pairing of these two images works so well and those spots are hard to get off once we see them…

    • Judy Black Said:

      Thanks so much. Getting the spots to linger at the end was probably the part of this poem that challenged me the most. I think the ending two lines have been changed about 20 times at least. And I’m still not 100% sure I like the last line, but I adore this poem and I’m so glad that the spots are staying with you.

  8. Tina Said:

    This poem is definitely my kind of droid! (We are a movie quoting family, it’s an Olympic sport for us!) The bit about the inside out skin just rocks. I like this contacting the writer idea, too. I Must try it. I’m a wanna be writer, and reading is my favorite way to spend some time alone.

    • Judy Black Said:

      Yay!! Someone got my silly droid joke! 🙂
      I love contacting writers about their work and usually they are really floored and excited to hear from their readers. This is really true with lesser known writers. Reading is one of the best ways to go about becoming a writer! Reading and writing are the backbone of every writer out there.

  9. I did enjoy reading this though I did find the colour scheme quite difficult to manage. If I changed anything it would be the white text. Love and Light, Sender

    • Judy Black Said:

      Thanks! I’m glad you liked my poem! I’ve been fighting with the text color on and off now. I just transferred things over from blogspot and the colors have gone totally mad. Eek!

  10. Eric Said:

    She cries, “Out! Out, damned Spot!”
    But Spot remains. (Bad dog, Spot! LOL!)

    Nice One, Judy!

    I only consider something to be ‘previously published’ if a 3rd party did the publishing. But I don’t write the guidelines.

    • Judy Black Said:

      Thanks! Haha hadn’t even thought of Spot being a dog’s name! I’ve only seen the issue of something being posted online considered published in mainly works that you have to pay to access. Which makes sense. why would the readers pay for a poem they could read for free on my blog? But not really something I know I have to look out for just yet!

  11. a wonderful share cheers pete

  12. Steve Isaak Said:

    Nice, semi-disturbing (yet child-true sense of curiosity n’ chaos) twist-/end-stanza. Exemplary.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

