The Waiter and The Writer

So today I’m going to do a little babble about my personal life. Shocking, I know. On a writing note, I did ‘win’ Nanowrimo and am now setting that novel aside for several months to let me look at it again with a better, more distant view.

Anyways, this is going to be about how I am a giant shy loser and have a monster crush on a waiter at my local Steak and Shake (which is ironic given that I am a vegetarian and have been for years)

He’s worked there for a while, I see him there all the time. He’s tall, thin, olive skin and long curly black hair to his mid-back that he keeps in an immaculate ponytail. He dresses just a little nicer than everyone else there. He’s always in a colored dress shirt with a tie. He’s always very polite and nice and very focused on his work.

I’d noticed him before but nothing really clicked until my family decided to go there one night about a month ago. He was our waiter and my mother and I giggled about the ‘pretty hair waiter’ while my father and little brother rolled their eyes. The meal was fine and we left.

A friend of mine was in town for the weekend and had just decided to start NaNoWriMo so I suggested we have a write-in (despite the fact that I have never been to or even seen a write-in). She thought it was a great idea and off we went into the little town in Georgia we live in.

We decided that we should go to a coffee shop, because we’re writers and that’s what writers do. They drink coffee (note: neither of us really like coffee). But off we went, we swung by three different coffee shops, each one filled to the brim with hipsters (I am not sure what a hipster is but I have been assured that they live in coffee shops). So now what? I finally suggested Steak and Shake. They have wi-fi, hot chocolate, coffee and it was close to our houses. So away we went!

As soon as entered the ‘pretty-hair waiter’ greeted us. He smiled at me and said, “So I see you came back again tonight.”

And that was it. I melted into a puddle right there and my poor friend had to drag me to our seat. All through our little write-in I would cast sneaking glances at him, occasionally catching him looking towards me. I think I spent the vast majority of the meal with blood loss to the rest of my body as red as my face must have been.

Me.

I am not really a romantic-y person and I rarely get crushes and when I do, they’re bad. But I am pretty much always too shy to do anything about it so they end up super novaing themselves out. They just burn until there’s nothing left.

Needless to say, my friend had a field day playfully teasing me. He was not our waiter though he did come by the table to see how we were doing and to tease me about coming back twice in the span of a few hours.

Despite some egging from my friend to leave my number, we simply checked out and left.

I have gone back almost once a week since then, dragging my poor friends along for the ride.  He has yet to be my waiter again but he always makes an effort to come by to talk to me. We’ve had a conversation about his really neat looking watch. Baby steps right?

Last time I went, I went by myself. I was really hungry and tired after being in the car all day driving back to Georgia from Florida and didn’t want to cook so off I went to Steak and Shake (I have such an exciting life, truly). They were packed and very busy, servers running everywhere, total organized chaos. I didn’t really even see him, or see if he noticed me (my waitress though was super nice and had blue hair, bonus points!)

As I was finishing up my meal he delivered the food to the family sitting beside me. He looked over at me and smiled, “Hi, how are you?”

Instant puddle.

My mouth managed to form a simple, “Good. How are you?”

“Busy.” he smiled a little and then had to take off again.

I managed to un-puddle enough to finish eating and finally went to check out. My super nice blue-haired waitress was ringing me up when pretty-hair showed up beside her.

I resisted the urge to turn to jelly and instead said, “I think I come here often enough that I really ought to introduce myself.”

He smiled, and laughed, “Yeah, I think so.” he shook my hand.

(puddle)

He asked me how my thanksgiving was and when I mentioned Florida he was excited because he has family there too. He told me that he works everyday but Sunday and Monday and that they let him sleep on a little cot in the back (since I told him I was convinced he lived there.)

And then, because I am a coward, and a shy-girl. I smiled and left again with us just giving each other little waves.

Dah!

I will probably go by the restaurant again at some point this week (maybe Thursday or Friday) so maybe in the future there will be an update though that is unlikely since I am a scaredy cat at asking people out.

Anyways, that ends today’s episode of The Waiter and The Writer. Just wanted to share the random bits of my life, and take a pitiful stab at non-fiction.

5 Comments »

  1. Draven Ames Said:

    I love the story. Very cute. You kept my attention the whole time. Looking at your previous work, I do believe you have gotten better! Considering you were good before, that is a feat. You better listen to me. The guy likes you. Go get his number. If anything, call it character research. Remember every vivid detail and write, write, write while you have the inspiration to catch such a fleeting emotion as a crush. Write about it every day while you live it. I bet it becomes a story worth telling, and you gain an audience.

    Shrug. I love the story.

    Draven Ames

    • Judy Black Said:

      Yeah it’s been trying to catch the emotion. I actually think I’ve got a poem out of it at least so that’s exciting! I think I’m going to go by today for lunch and maybe try to work up enough nerve to ask him out. We’ll see how it goes!
      I agree with this post actually. I think I’m finally figuring out how to write this blog, getting more of me in it and not trying to be all formal. Hopefully this is the beginning of a more fun, more ‘me’ blog!

  2. Amie Kaufman Said:

    What happened, what happened, did you ask him? I’m glued to the screen, details please! Crushes are the best, and as I’m a happily married girl, I hope you don’t mind if I vicariously crush through you!

    • Judy Black Said:

      Hahha, I’m glad I’ve got you glued to the screen! You are more than welcome to vicariously crush through me! I didn’t ask him out, but the last time I went we did finally get to actually talk for almost 20 minutes. It was really nice! I’ll have to an update blog about the continuing saga of The Waiter and The Writer.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

