The Shameful Confession of a Writer

It is, without a doubt, Monday. It is also the first time since I’ve started this blog that I started out this blog post without a clue of what I wanted to talk about today.

Then it hit me. This lack of motivation, this lack of inspiration for my blog today is just like the feeling I get when I just don’t want to write. I don’t feel motivated. I’m busy. I’m tired. I’m any other number of things.

I'm looking like this.

And I don’t want to write a thing. I think about it. I whine on twitter about how I should be writing, but then….something comes on TV, a friend calls, a #hashtag chat starts, I go out shopping and before I know it, it’s midnight and I have to go to work in 7 hours. Boohoo, I didn’t get any writing done.

And it’s my fault. Writing is a luxury, it isn’t something that is going to happen everyday whether I want it to or not. As much as I love writing and want to keep writing, I have to remind myself to make the time and the effort to actually write. It’s a promise made to myself that I have to keep, and lately, I have been doing awful at it.

My shameful confession: It has been 10 days since I have last seriously written anything new. I’ve been outlining a new novel, and editing existing work, and researching MFA programs which has taken up most of my free time. I’ve been too tired or sick or busy to write, and I’m ashamed that I’ve thrown writing to the side so easily.

Yes, it is the holiday season. Yes, things are ridiculously busy. Yes, there are some days where honestly I will not have time to write. But there are moments where I could find some time to make it happen, but it requires getting rid of something else and to stop whining about it.

So I’ve got a lovely little word tracker here that I’m adding to my blog sidebar:

The Crystal Maiden

0 / 100000 (0.00%)

That’s on my latest novel in progress. (Does anyone have a word tracker they recommend? Not sure I love this one)

This isn’t saying I’m not going to be doing the #hashtag chats on twitter or blogging or any of that. This was kind of just a wake up moment that writing isn’t going to happen unless I make it happen.

Thanks Calvin! Just what I needed!

So, how are you doing on writing?

6 Comments »

  1. Eric Said:

    I think writing shouldn’t feel like an obligation – that’s contrary to the whole purpose, in my opinion.

    Sometimes you just don’t feel like it, period.

    Your mind gets busy on other things, and sometimes life (with all its trappings) simply has to be your main focus.

    (Few of us have the luxury of JUST writing)

    Your mental pantry will grow bare if you don’t re-stock it on occasion.

    But once it’s full and inspiration takes hold again, the words will flow and you may even have trouble keeping up.

    So don’t fret over NOT writing; it’s better to let your Muse rest until she’s ready to inspire you once again.

    • Judy Black Said:

      Goodness, WordPress flagged you as spam. Glad I found your comment to pull out of the spam can!
      I do think it is important to take breaks when you really are truly just out of inspiration. But I also think it’s dangerous to wait on a muse to inspire you. One of my favorite writing quotes is from Faulkner who says, “I only write when I am inspired. Fortunately I am inspired at 9 o’clock every morning.” For me, writing is a combination of inspiration and discipline.

  2. Randall Said:

    Finding time to write is difficult for me. Full time job+part time school+home ownership(those damn plumbing and electrical problems!)+wife and two kids doesn’t leave a lot of “free” time. <–That's my excuse, but part of me knows that I just need to be more intentional about scheduling time to write.

    • Judy Black Said:

      Yeah, it is very hard to find ‘free’ time and I don’t even have as busy of a life as you! Sometimes it’s just a matter of finding time between projects. Also keeping track of where you ‘waste’ time. Like me, I wasted HOURS playing stupid games online, now I cut that out and have more time, whoo!

  3. I completely recognize this situation, as I’m more or less in it myself. I haven’t written much of anything in the past few weeks, ever since I completed the second draft of my fantasy novel. My excuse is that I’m waiting for feedback from beta readers, and catching up on my own reading. Yet, there’s still that next novel to make an outline for, but I have yet to start with.

    • Judy Black Said:

      Sometimes, I think that taking a breather can help reevaluate and get back to your work. It’s just a trick to make sure the break doesn’t go on forever and you return to writing. Take a breath, and then jump back into writing!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

