Obligatory Reflection of 2010

I wasn’t going to do the ‘Reflection on 2010’ post but I couldn’t resist! 2010 has been a very interesting year and will probably be looked back on as the year I realized I was a writer. I graduated with a BA in English (Cum Laude too! Whoo!) I found my first full time job in a field that I am interested in and realized that I’m close to my ideal career but not quite right.

I’ve started up this blog again and kept it going for… oh.. a few months now and have passed 700 views! I’m now averaging about 20-70 hits a day which is pretty cool considering that no one knew I existed until recently! This blog has really been a blessing to get me writing, thinking and connecting with people. You all make this blog awesome so thanks!

I’ve finally started taking my writing seriously and I’m getting published. I’ve started sending work out and I’ve gotten my handful of rejections but I’ve gotten a few acceptances which has really just blown my mind. I’ve always fallen into twitter and it has opened my whole world. I’ve met some amazing new friends, new writers and found a support system that I never even knew existed. I have also learned that a lot of people like my work and me, which is always a nice thing to realize.

I beat NaNoWriMo which is always really fun! I learned that I can write a lot and well when pressed to do so, and that there is time to write everyday even when it seems like there just aren’t enough hours.

I made the decision to apply for MFA programs across the Southeast and have started that application process. I am beginning to move towards my dreams. I know there’s a lot still to do but for the first time in a long time I actually feel really hopeful and like I know the way I’m suppose to go. It’s nice to not feel like I’m stumbling in the dark by myself anymore.

2011 holds a lot of potential and I cannot wait to meet it all head on! What were the highlights of your year? What are your goals for this year? More importantly…. What are you up to for New Year’s Eve?

6 Comments »

  1. Amie Kaufman Said:

    What a huge year for you! I have every confidence that your 2011 is going to be amazing, and I’m looking forward to sharing it.

    I spent NYE in the swimming pool with a drink–it was 104F here in Melbourne! As for my resolutions, I’m hoping to be querying by Easter and I’ve got two drafts I want to finish this year.

    • Judy Black Said:

      Sounds great Amie! Querying is always a journey, I wish you great luck in 2011 and sounds like you had an awesome NYE!

  2. Claudia Said:

    thanks for sharing this judy and congrats on the BA – woo-hoo – way to go!
    all the best for you and hope to read many of your poems in 2011

    • Judy Black Said:

      Aw thanks! Graduating has really opened my whole world! All the best to you and I plan on keeping up with your poetry as well!

  3. sounds like a great year full of achievement, here’s to more success in 2011! Happy New Year!

    • Judy Black Said:

      Happy New Year to you too! Thanks, it has been a great year! 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

