Resolutions!

New Years 2011 Resolutions!

So, I wanted to put up a list of my 2011 resolutions. I’m also going to put HOW I’m going to do these things. I think that’s a big way to help keep your resolutions. I’m mainly going to focus on just my writing goals since this whole blog is about writing!

Write More

Cliche, cliche for a writing blog, I know, but I really do want to write more in the coming year. How am I going to do this? I’m going to start writing everyday at a set time no matter what. I also am going to try to plan what I’m going to write more instead of just diving in.

Get a chapbook together

I’ve already got a good collection of poems that I think fit together beautifully. I really want to at least send off these poems for publication as a chapbook. I’ve found several contests that I hope to enter for chapbooks and I aim to have those together by the end of February.

 

Keep Reading

I have a Kindle now so I’m hoping to be able to read more often (when I’m in a Dr’s office or other place and stuck with a longer wait, I can have the Kindle with me now!) How? I keep reading everyday during my lunch break. Mainly I want to/need to read more poetry. Suggestions? Especially for dark poetry

Donate More

I really want to try to help out people more, and while I don’t make a ton of money I know I can still find room to give. How? Set aside 5% off each paycheck to donate to Kiva.org You should check it out and look into donating as well.

 

And those are some of my goals for 2011. I don’t really like setting super goals for the year since I am constantly setting new goals for myself so a lot of these are actually just continuations of goals I started in 2010. What are some of your goals?

2 Comments »

  1. Randall Said:

    I share the first three goals with you. How many poems does one need for a chapbook?

    Kiva is a great organization to donate to.

    • Judy Black Said:

      For the contests I’m looking into it’s between 16-25 pages of poems. However some chapbooks can do up to 30-50 pages of poetry but generally not more than that. I’m really looking forward to my first paycheck of 2011 to donate to Kiva!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

