One Shot Wednesday 1/26/11: Princess Ana

Princess Ana

 

The red dress doesn’t fit

but I try to nest my way inside

silk satin blood and muscle.

It cinches at my waist,

cuts tight, won’t budge.

 

My rib cage slides up my chest

and out from my mouth

to skitter across the floor

admiring itself in the mirror.

 

The sinews of my body

lace up my back,

criss-crossing bone

and meat

cinch and constrict

into a new shape.

 

The dress zips on

sticking to only

what is left:

bone and original skin.

 

 

 

Posted for One Shot Wednesday Please go check it out and read all of the amazing poems shared there!

 

14 Comments »

  1. Laura Said:

    I like the imagery in this poem! Gross but awesome. Was “original skin” meant to be a play on “original sin”?

    • Judy Black Said:

      It was! I’m not sure that I love it, but since this is still a draft I’m happy to play around with it. I’m glad you caught it!

      • Laura Said:

        I like it, personally. The idea of only bones and original skin/sin being left of this person is interesting and works on a few different levels.

        To me, this poem seems to show a picture of someone trying to be what they’re not– physically and symbolically–by forcing herself into a red dress. I like it lots 🙂

  2. brian Said:

    yikes. glad i am a boy in there situs….just gimme a worn out pair of jeans…

    • Judy Black Said:

      Hahaha, oh yeah. Boys and their jeans. But I’m glad I got a yikes out of you! 🙂

  3. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Theron Kennedy, Judy Black. Judy Black said: One Shot Wednesday 1/26/11: Princess Ana: #oneshotwednesday http://wp.me/p1bGYd-6z […]

  4. Monty Said:

    any of us trying to fit into clothes we “used to wear” understand so very well 😉 great job!

  5. Chris G. Said:

    Gave me a little cringe…the things people will do to themselves for “the look,” the crowd, the beauty…what once worked, sometimes just will not fit with age. It’s not bad, it’s just a sign of time’s march…got to agree with brian here though: I’m glad I’m a male. Jeans, maybe a nice suit, and I’m bloody good.

    • Judy Black Said:

      I’m glad I could make you cringe (hopefully a good cringe… if that’s possible?) and I’m glad that it made you think of all the horrible things people will do to fit into something.

  6. Eric Said:

    I prefer a woman with some meat on her bones… and bones under her meat. Nice One Shot, Judy!

    • Judy Black Said:

      Aw, no meatless, boneless dresses for you then? I’m glad you enjoyed!! 🙂

  7. randallweiss Said:

    Nest is an odd verb in Line 2. I’m not sure it fits with the rest of the imagery.

    Good poem. Says a lot about vanity and social expectations.

    • Judy Black Said:

      I agree. Nesting is one of the verbs I wasn’t sure about here. That and the end are the places I am least happy with. This still needs some work so you may be seeing it in your inbox in a few days. 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

