Capturing a Moment

If asked to describe what I try to do in my writing, I would have to fall onto the answer that I try to capture a moment of time, not a lifetime, not even a day, an hour, a minute, or a second sometimes. This idea of capturing a moment is one of the reasons I think that I love writing and photography. I don’t dive into photography nearly as much as writing, but I still enjoy it and think that the two go hand in hand. Why?

Both are about capturing a moment in time, an instant of something human (or monstrous)  for record. Some photographs and writings are better than others, some are purely for yourself, for your ego, for your friends, for fun, and not for a ‘serious’ purpose, but even these captured moments are beautiful.

Photos and writing each have your own point of view about them. You are not going to frame a picture exactly how I would, you are not going to write something exactly as I would. I had a beautiful, wonderful friend who always took pictures of herself, even when she had others around that would be happy to do it for her. I asked her about it one day and she told me that it was so she could herself as she framed it. I thought that was incredibly interesting and I think about her every time I take a picture now.

Sometimes what you thought the focus was isn’t what it’s really about. You take a picture of a lake, you write a short story about a lonely widower. When you’ve finished you go back and look at what you’ve created, suddenly that lake is reflecting the sky bluer and clearer than it ever should be, the lonely widower has a son who steals the show in one scene. Suddenly what you thought you were focusing on isn’t the star anymore. You have to be able to re-angle and look at all the parts working together to tell a story in images or with words.

One of the most interesting writing assignments I’ve ever done was to go and take pictures at all different times of the day at a location in town. Then to write about those photos. It was amazing and I really wish I still had those pictures even though I still vividly remember them. I took pictures of candy jars in a wonderful candy store that is now closed down.

Here are a few of my favorite moments captured with a camera. Make up your own story and tell me about it!

9 Comments »

  1. Eric Said:

    That’s a good description of why people write – trying to capture a moment, a feeling… to wrap in carefully with our words, insuring it’s not damaged, so we can share it with everyone.

    Pictures also tell stories, but the story differs from person to person.

    I’ll come back and link my story based on one of your pictures once it’s finished.

    I am also hosting a photo prompt, open to everyone: Monday Photo Prompt

    I hope you’ll join in! 🙂

    • Judy Black Said:

      I will! I will get something up soon! I love the picture!!

  2. Eric Said:

    Done! Holy Fire

    (I wonder if you can guess which photo I chose? LOL!)

  3. randallweiss Said:

    I’ve actually never tried writing a poem inspired by a photo. I usually just sit in the place and write it live, if you will. I can see how this would be helpful, though, and I agree about the capturing a moment bit.

    • Judy Black Said:

      Yeah, I think capturing a moment is one of the most important aspects of poetry is that capturing of a moment.
      I’m going to stop typing now because I fell like I am making zero sense. Phew.

  4. Russ Said:

    Love that last picture (and Eric’s response).

  5. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Randall Weiss, Judy Black. Judy Black said: Capturing a Moment: Photography and Writing come together http://wp.me/p1bGYd-6P […]


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

