22 Things I’ve Never Told You…

So I stumbled onto Dave Ursillo’s blog recently and a wonderful post listing 25 things about him to help his readers get to know and understand him better. So I thought I would take a swing at it.. So here are 22 things I’ve never told you to help you get to know me better!

1. I am 22 years old.

For some reason people have either been thinking I’m way older or way younger than that. People that meet me in person usually think I’m younger and people over the internet usually think older. Weird.

2. I have two scars, one on the back of my head and one over my left eyebrow.

If you’ve been reading my One Stop Wednesday poems then I imagine one of those scars is familiar.  

3. I was originally a political science/english double major with the goal of becoming a professional speech writer.

However, I panicked about the possibility of graduating late so I dropped my poli-sci major.

4. I make weird little noises all the time. I squeak a lot.

Yeah, it’s true. It’s usually one of the first things I mention to people just so they aren’t alarmed when I suddenly squeal later.

5. I have two little dogs that keep my company and drive me crazy.

One is a terrier mix that has an obsession with licking the couch. The other is a puppy mill rescue mini-pin. He has serious issues and bites strangers still.

6. I am a vegetarian and have been (on and off) for almost 8 years.

When I was studying abroad in Paris I ate meat but I haven’t eaten it since.

7. I adore cooking/baking.

If you follow me on twitter you’ve seen my stream of weekend cupcake pics. Cupcakes are my favorite things to make but I’m actually a very good cook. I make vegetarian chilli, lasagna, etc. when I have the time to or for special occasions. I love finding new recipes to make so if you’ve got one share it!

8. I adore reality TV shows.

Top Chef, Project Runway, 48 Hours, the list goes on and on. TV is my biggest enemy when it comes to writing time. I leave my TV on a lot for the background noise.  

9. I speak a little french.

I’m rapidly losing the french I do have but I love the language and the culture and hope to return to Paris one day.

10. I am single and for the most part, content with that.

I fully believe that you cannot really be in a healthy relationship until you are happy with and love yourself. I think I’ve finally figured me out.

11. I adore music.

Music is a huge source of inspiration for me. My little ipod has countless playlists for individual stories, poems, etc. I am always looking for new music so share away!

12.  I love, love, love cold weather.

I hate hot weather, you can only take off so many layers to cool down. But to get warm you can snuggle up with a blanket and hot cocoa and warm up.

13. My favorite number is 13.

If I do get a tattoo it will likely be of a 13 on my hip. It’s my lucky number and my birthdate!

14. I hate bracelets.

I have very thin wrists so I always hate bracelets and watches because they just slide right off.

15. I am a total nerd.

I love video games, anime, comics, and manga. I go to conventions and I dress up. Nuff said.

16. I am a fairly private and introverted person.

I don’t share a lot of information or let down my guard very easily. Which is why I am always so amused by the fact that I write and share poetry, one of the best ways to expose yourself.

17. I am a feminist.

Shouldn’t come as a giant shock, but I am and I firmly believe in women’s rights.

18. I LOVE quotes.

I have books and books of famous and infamous quotes. I love to use them when I write, or as writing prompts.

19. I have started to write letters.

I love writing letters. I’ve written over 20 in the past month. It makes me feel like I belong to a different era. I struggle to figure out what to say but something about the delayed communication is really beautiful to me.

20. It has taken me until now to realize I do have a writing ‘voice’

I never really realized I had a distinctive voice with my writing until right before I graduated from college. I hope I can keep true to my voice and not lose myself.

21. On of my biggest pet peeves is people not using their blinkers when driving.

It drives me CRAZY!! 

22. I have a really hard time with lists like this.

Because seriously, I don’t think I’m all that interesting.

 

And that’s 22 things about me! Learn something new? Inspired to do your own list? Share it! I want to learn more about everyone who takes time to read my blog because you all are awesome!

11 Comments »

  1. You’re definitely right about people on the internet guessing that you are older. I would have guessed somewhere between 25 and 30, based on photos I’ve seen.

    Makes me feel old, and I’m only 27.

    Anyway, I can’t say that these things are shocking revelations. I completely agree with #21, and I’m not at all surprised by #11, since music influences many writers (myself included, I tend to blog about it every now and then).

    • Judy Black Said:

      Aw, you’re not old at all so stop that silly feeling right there!

      Yeah for some reason the internet makes me seem/look older? haha, I don’t know. 21 drives me crazy!! Seriously just use a blinker!

      Music is one of my biggest influences. I always have music or sound of some sort when I’m doing anything. I hate silence.

  2. Laura Said:

    How funny! I opened the email with this new post right after confirming my subscription to Dave Ursillo’s blog. 🙂 I think I’ll make my own list on my blog.

    • Judy Black Said:

      Yay!! Making the list was a lot of fun, but harder than I thought it would be! And Dave’s blog is awesome, isn’t it??

      • Laura Said:

        His blog IS awesome. I like the design and his thoughts and everything…

  3. Dave Ursillo Said:

    Judy,

    Congratulations on this piece 🙂 I hope you found it liberating and inspiring to own your story, open up to the world and be your you-est you. I think you’ll find that it’s incredibly empowering. 🙂

    Dave

    • Judy Black Said:

      It was actually an incredibly fun, and opening experience for me. I can’t wait to be my me-est yet! 🙂

  4. randallweiss Said:

    1. I was 22 once.
    2. I think I recall something like that.
    3. There’s no shame in graduating late (says the 27 year-old who is still working on his BA)
    4. Not surprised at all.
    5. I figured you were a cat person.
    6. 2+ years for me. Have you seen my wife’s blog? Some great recipes there.
    7. If I’m ever in GA, I expect cupcakes. ummmm… Please 😉
    8. I’m on board with some cooking shows and Sing Off (because they have much more talent than American Idol singers, and Ben Folds is cute)
    9. I only know the French words that have made it into common English usage.
    10. I don’t know that I buy the content part.
    11. I know it’s only rock n roll, but I like it.
    12. I’m pretty flexible as far as weather goes. I like men’s fashion more in the winter. I think I look smarter in hat, scarf, and coat.
    13. So you birthday is 1/3 or the 13th of a month?
    14. So I went through this punk rock phase in high school that involved A LOT of bracelets…
    15. Awesome.
    16. Me, too.
    17. Again. Me, too.
    18. “I LOVE quotes”
    19. I’d be honored to be on your correspondence list, if you’re keen on that.
    20. I hear ya.
    21. Mine, too. I was hoping that health care reform would include help for Blinker Deficiency Syndrome, but our government has failed us.
    22. I think you’re interesting.

    Hope this comment wasn’t too obnoxious.

    • Judy Black Said:

      Not obnoxious at all! I love Blinker Deficiency Syndrome we need to get that on the books asap. My birthday is 6/13 and if you ever get to Georgia you will get a cupcake for sure!! 🙂

  5. randallweiss Said:

    13. you=your

  6. […] friend Judy Black made a list on her blog of random facts about her. Doing the same here seems like a great diversion from the paper I have […]


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

