Verbage

What’s your favorite part of speech? *insert awkward eyebrow waggle here* So am I coming on to you with an awkward english language come on? Maybe. Are you cute?

Well, are you?

Okay, enough of that. My favorite part of speech is simple. Verbs. I love verbs. I love the way they sound, the way they can convey what they mean without even knowing the definition. Through pure sound you can understand what it means. Slither is one of the best examples of this. When someone slithers it sounds snake-like, that hissing, lanky coiling link of mass in pure verb form.

Strong verbs make for strong writing. It’s as plain and simple as that. Verbs conjure the action of the piece. There is a difference  between jogging, fleeing, and skipping and that difference can make all the difference in a sentence.

Writing is all about finding that exact right word both in sound and meaning and putting it together with other just right words in a sort of Goldilocks of letters. It’s one of the most frustrating things to know that a single word in a line of poetry, or a sentence of prose is somehow off. Something is wrong and I can’t figure out what.

So to end this post I’m going to leave with a list of some of my favorite verbs!

Slither

Rope

Asphyxiate

Caress

Knead

What are some of your favorite verbs?

14 Comments »

  1. Richard Said:

    COIL…definitely coil…what a verb!

  2. Eric Said:

    Verbs are definitely important, but my personal preference is for adjectives. I think descriptives are AWESOME! (LOL!)

    • Laura Said:

      Creative adjectives are great! Boring and overused adjectives are, well, boring and overused. <= See what I mean?!?! 😉

      • Judy Black Said:

        True the same can be said with verbs too though.

    • Judy Black Said:

      Adjectives are my second favorite! 🙂

  3. Laura Said:

    Personally, my favorite verb is “Google” and its Spanish equivalent “googlear.” That and “friend,” as in “to friend on facebook.” Also “phone,” as in “to phone you” or “to phone you up,” and “play,” which you can use to “play a role” in a “play.” And other nouns that function as verbs and vice versa.

    Can I just say, I love the English language and its screwy noun-morphing-verbs. 😀 ❤

    • Judy Black Said:

      They are fun. I have now heard people start to say ‘I binged it.’ which drives me crazy because Bing sucks. But yes, nouns that can be verbs and vice versa are so much fun.

      • Laura Said:

        LOL, I have a whole blogpost about that! You can’t say you BINGed something. Bing sucks, for one, and for another, “I binged it” just sounds dirty. 😛

  4. thegreatgonzo26 Said:

    inkling is a funny one.
    On a totally unrelated note, Crapulent is a great adjective.

  5. Hmmm…favorite verbs?

    Embrace (also a good noun)

    Contort

    Become

    Inquire

    Of course I enjoy many others. Good post. I think many writers underestimate the importance of selecting the best verb.

    • Judy Black Said:

      Contort is a great verb! I think verbs can really make or break a piece.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

