Con Nooga Part 1 of 2

So this weekend I had the amazing chance to attend Con Nooga in Chattanooga, TN and I have to say it was the best time I have ever had at a convention. While not 100% a ‘writing conference’ it offered a very nice literary track and also featured some awesome horror panels so it was a mixture of things that led to some amazing panels and some amazing new people to gush about.  This will be a two post discussion, the first one mainly discussing panels and the next will mainly be a link to all the people we met and a little about them.

My bestie, Suzy aka TheGreatGonzo26 headed out Friday morning and arrived in plenty of time to check in at the hotel and register for the con. Our first panel was: 21st Century Publishing which was led by Sean Patrick Fannon from Drive Thru RPG. He had some great info about working with Drive Thru Rpg and getting things published asap. He also wore a kilt which makes everything more awesome.

Next was the Author Meet and Greet where Suzy got to geek out over meeting Dan Jolley aka writer of the greatest comic book series EVER (her words). I got to chat a little with Andy Deane, lead singer of the band Bella Morte, and author of several horror books. He’s a really nice, interesting guy so that was great.

Next was a panel called The Horror of It All where some of the staff from STIFF Magazine and William Wright discussed trends in horror, the current ideas versus past incarnations of horror mainly in film. It was really interesting and Suzy and I ended up hanging out with the guys after the panel and just talking.

Saturday was super busy with panels almost all day long. We started with a great panel on screenplays and the challenges with adapting a novel into a screenplay. Michael D’Ambrosio and Stephen Zimmer hosted this panel and they did a great job.

Next was Writing Hooks, Action and Suspense then about creating a Platform. I was happy to know that I am on the right track with that, though I think it is time to at least reveal my real name on my blog. Gasp. That will come this Friday.

One of the most interesting discussions came from the platform panel where a few publishers and writers warned about publishing your work online. After this discussion I believe I will be withdrawing from One Stop Poetry.

Alright, thus ends part 1 of my Con Nooga posts. I really do recommend it to anyone in the area.

6 Comments »

  1. thegreatgonzo26 Said:

    No blogging while tired for you. I forbid it.

  2. Emily Said:

    Re the dangers of publishing your work online… interesting, what did they warn you about? Not to post before you publish it in print?

    • Judy Black Said:

      Yeah, basically publishing online anywhere is considering a first publication and therefore can only be considered as a reprint.

  3. randallweiss Said:

    I never post anything I intend to submit for publication.

    • Judy Black Said:

      That’s a good process, but I never really know what I want for publication when it’s still a draft.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

