Review: Broken by Susan Jane Bigelow

It has been a long time since I’ve read a sci-fi novel, let alone anything with superheros. Needless to say, I was a little wary of diving into Broken. However, within the first few pages I was sucked into the dystopic world Bigelow created. Her characters jump from the page from the very start and don’t let go.

Michael is an amazing lead character and is one of the strongest characters I’ve read in a while. His actions drive the story forward, and while he does have the ability to see the future he still doesn’t have all the answers and still doubts what he is doing. He’s known his life would change the moment a woman hands him her baby, a baby that will grow up to either become a horrible monster or a hero to save this destroyed world. Michael knows the weight of the world is on him and his only allies are Broken, a superhero who has lost her powers, and Monica, a young woman who has just lost everything.

The trio of characters is incredibly believable in their interactions, rather than accepting their task, all three struggle with the weight of trying to save this child from the future of becoming a monster. I really enjoyed the fact that these are not cookie-cutter heros, they do and say things I don’t expect but that are totally believable. They surprise me and that’s what kept me drawn to the story.

While there are moments of weakness in the plot and the finale felt a little rushed, it is one of the only endings that literally made me gasp aloud and took me totally off guard in a good way.

Bigelow has a lot of skill with her characters and crafting a detailed but not overwhelming story. I was pleased that while the world her story is in is detailed I never felt overwhelmed or confused or lost by the world. The author gracefully avoids ‘info-dumping’ for the most part, though there are a few areas that could have been slimmed down.

All in all I very much enjoyed Broken and will be the on the look out for more from Susan Jane Bigelow.

You can buy Broken here

6 Comments »

  1. Thank you for the lovely review!!!

    • Judy Black Said:

      My pleasure! I did very much enjoy Broken and look forward to more of your work!

  2. Kate Said:

    I do think that was my favourite part of the novel – the fact that the characters are all so REAL.

    • Judy Black Said:

      Yes, I loved that they didn’t fall into line and march without argument to their fate. There was tension, fighting, chaos. Groups of strangers suddenly travelling together in such dire circumstances aren’t going to be all buddy-buddy so it was really refreshing to see such real characters.

  3. […] for Insatiable Readers Tiger Gray Bibliognome (Bibliognome also did an interview with me) Judy Black Cloud Reading With Tequila Fandomania Superhero Novels Between the Covers Obligated to […]

  4. […] Elsewhere Judy Black Cloud The Book Smugglers Between the Covers Nancy Brauer SF Book Reviews TDF Pamela The Discriminating […]


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

