The Curse of the Shiny-Pretty

So I have a goal of getting a novel manuscript ready by July. It’s turning out to be quite the process (as you can imagine) but the main challenge?

 

The shiny-pretty!

 

 

What in the world do I mean by that?

The new idea, which I call the shiny-pretty. You get started on one idea and then suddenly something new pops into your brain. ‘Yes, yes, what I REALLY need to write about is zombies! No, cowboys! No, zombie cowboys! In space! With unicorns!’

 

MONKEY COWBOYS ON ZOMBIE DOGS IN SPACE! YES, PERFECT!

 

You get burned out on ideas before pen goes to paper (or hands to keyboard or whatever). That’s already happened to me several times and I have had to step back and take a few deep breaths to reevaluate and put that trust back in myself, and more importantly put the trust back into my original story.

So, what do I do with all the shiny pretties? Well, I write them down, organize them down as best as I can–quick outlines, basic characters sketches, etc. I don’t want to lose the idea but if I keep stopping to chase the newest, shiniest idea I will never meet my goal and get to that finish line.

So, how do you combat the shiny-pretty?

2 Comments »

  1. Carradee Said:

    Depends on the shiny-pretty. Some are mild, letting me just write a summary. If one’s strong, I write it until I reach a dead end. Usually that takes a few hours at most, but once it took 2 weeks, and I have a halfway decent novel draft to expand from that.

    So I essentially do whatever I must to get the shiny-pretty out of my system so I can focus.

    • Judy Black Said:

      I like that idea. I think I may start using that idea, because I hate to just ignore something when the urge to create it is so strong. I always worry I’ll lose it if I don’t get it out.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

