Interview: Chrissy Begemann

So que up the fancy music! It’s my first interview on my blog, yay!! I am lucky enough to be friends (she’s my good texting buddy!) with Miss Chrissy Begemann. Chrissy is a graduate of Georgia College and State University (which is where we met) and has years of expereince as a writing consultant. She currently does freelance work and I highly recommend her. You can find out even more about Chrissy here.

Now, on to the interview!

1. How do you make time to write?
I put an entry in my planner. If it’s not on my schedule, it’s nearly impossible to make time for my writing.

2. Has social media changed the way you work?
Social media has been awesome for my business. I use Twitter to share ideas with my peers and to connect with my clients. LinkedIn has done wonders for marketing my freelance business. Join the groups on LinkedIn! They’re the best for making connections for people within your field.

3. What writer has inspired you the most?
I’ve always been a huge fan of Shakespeare given my obsession with the theatre. I still have a deep respect for his work but my attention has turned to more volatile writers. I draw a lot of my inspiration from Margaret Atwood. She is perfect for provoking both thought and action. I will start reading all of her works in 2011. I’m very excited about that!

4. Top 3 tips for new writers:
1.  Stay committed to your writing and let your friends know you’re committed. They’ll hold you accountable.

2. Read! Read to learn what styles move you and what styles turn you off. Any author in any genre will offer you something. If you find a book you can’t get through, try to discover why. You’ll learn a lot about your writing in the process.

3. Have three friends to show what you’ve written: One friend to always smile and encourage, one friend to tell you it’s complete crap and rewrite, and one friend who’s writing you admire.

5. What are the challenges of maintaining a freelance writing service and how have you overcome them?

The biggest challenge is keeping your skills current. I read A LOT and I continue to expand my skill set. Staying active and keeping in contact with my peers also helps me hone my craft.

6. If you could tell your younger self one thing what would it be?

It’s ok to break away from the plan. Be flexible! Shoot, I should tell my present-day self that too.

You find Chrissy’s Freelance Services on facebook here.

And on twitter here

6 Comments »

  1. randallweiss Said:

    I love reading interviews. There fun to watch, too. There are a lot of writer interviews on YouTube. I digress. I really like Chrissy’s tips for new writers and the idea of scheduling writing time (I need to get better about that).

    • randallweiss Said:

      *They’re fun

      I outtyped my mind…

      • Aw, I hate it when I outtype my mind. Seems to happen a lot. I love Chrissy’s idea of scheduling writing time, I need to do that too.

  2. There’s nothing like having a good “freind”. 🙂

    • Curse you typo! Man, it didn’t even register as a spelling error. Sad 😦 Thanks for catching it. I feel mighty silly now. *goes to hide in the corner of shame*

      • All is forgiven. I only picked on you because someone caught it and picked on me on Facebook about the article. I do it all the time. A good editor is a wonderful thing. 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

