Growing a Platform- Twitterverse

At first this post was called ‘Making A Platform” but that didn’t seem right. You do ‘make’ a platform per say but it’s not thinking of the platform that’s the challenge, it’s growing it to include an audience wider than your mom, your dog and your best friend.

So how do you grow a platform? There isn’t much getting around it. You have to give time. And for writers, that means time away from your writing. However, more and more publishers are counting on the writers to build their own fan base and have a platform built up before the novel is even published.

So, how can you do this most effectively? Well, here’s 3 tips that have worked for me.

1. Participate in hashtag chats. (For a list of chats, please see this post )

When I first started using twitter I have 28 followers. After my first #litchat I jumped up to 50 followers. It wasn’t a huge leap but from the followers I found there, more and more followers showed up. I am now almost to 700 followers. Find hashtags that work for you and stay true to them.

Blog tip: Use #mentionmonday to get attention to your blogs.

 

2. Interact with people.

I don’t mind sending messages to celebrities and wondering why you never hear back. What I mean is respond when people talk to you. Ask questions, retweet, share, engage with people. Don’t be afraid to ask questions, to offer advice or opinions, but always remember to behave nicely. Just because it’s the internet doesn’t mean it’s okay to be a jerk.

 

3. Don’t stress about numbers.

If you spend all your time stressing about ‘I have to have 1000 followers!’ then you’re not going to get to connect with your followers and that’s what building a platform is about. You need to connect with people, make people care about you, your work, and what you have to say. Having 6,000 followers is nice, but if 80% of those are people who don’t really care about who you are.. then have you really created a platform?

 

So, those are a few twitter platform tips I’ve discovered. I know you have some other tips so share away (and retweet and all that jazz!)

 

4 Comments »

  1. randallweiss Said:

    Good points. Also add, Be Yourself. I’m much more likely to follow an author I think is authentic than someone who just says the right things about writing.

    • Be yourself is very true. Don’t worry about trying to make everyone love you so much as making sure you are representing yourself.

  2. Jessica Said:

    Judy, thanks for the thoughtful advice. I tweet for a media company (luckily through their accounts and not my own!), but they are so focused on “growing numbers” that they completely miss the point — engaging people. Followers unfollow us quickly, and they’re okay with that. They’d rather see a large number of followers than see a respectable number of followers that actually read their content. Rough. While it’s okay money, I hope to find another gig to supplement that and kick this one soon. 🙂

    • I hope you find a new gig too! Personally connecting is what builds brand loyalty, not simply having a follower. Just because someone follows me doesn’t mean they’ll buy what I sell. Silly people.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

