MFA Update

Ah, the MFA quest. So for those you have been following me for a bit, you remember my struggles with MFA applications. So far in my quest I have received two rejections. Sad. However, this is where you have to keep your head up, chest out and just keep going right along.

Do I know what’s going to happen if all the programs I apply to tell me no? Not really, I have a vague Plan B. Am I scared? Oh hell yes. I am petrified that I am going to get a resounding no at every place I want to go. 

But I’m not worried that this means my writing’s not good enough, or that I’m not good enough. I know I am. MFA programs are very difficult to get into, they are incredibly competative and I only applied to 4 programs. Deadlines for most programs have passed by now and I’m not going to go and start panic applying anyways.

The ‘Thanks, but no thanks’ letters remind me so much of getting rejections from magazines, agents, contests, etc. It’s not the getting a rejection that stops a writer, it’s the writer not writing anymore for fear of rejection. Now is not the time to stop second guessing and worrying.

NOW'S THE TIME FOR ANGER!

After a rejection is when you need to keep on writing. Use that frustration, sadness, anger, whatever and channel it into your writing. The important thing is to never stop.

10 Comments »

  1. Don’t give up! A rejection in now way means your writing isn’t good enough. As I told you before I applied to 6 schools and got into 2. Don’t worry your work is good. Something good will happen! 🙂

    • Thanks so much! It really helps a lot to hear that, because it is tough to keep reminding myself I am a good writer even if this or that MFA program doesn’t want me.

  2. Emily Said:

    Write on!

  3. You have such a great attitude looking at this…go you!

    • Aw, thanks! I’m trying to keep up a positive attitude and just on moving forward. Whether I get into an MFA program or not I will keep on writing.

  4. EJ Said:

    Hey, don’t give up. It took me a couple of goes too but it will happen 🙂

    • Aw thanks!! It actually did happen! This past week I was accepted into an MFA program! 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

