Writing isn’t for wusses

It’s true. Writing is not for wusses. It’s not something that you wait to do (okay, well maybe sometimes). Writing is a way of life. One of my favorite quotes about writing is, “You don’t find time to write. You make time. It’s my job.” Nora Roberts.
 
So today’s post is going to be a short, sweet reminder of that fact.
 
And while most of us are not making a living from our writing, that doesn’t change the fact that your schedule is not going to magically lighten and you will suddenly have time to write. It doesn’t work that way. If you keep waiting to ‘have the time to write’ you’re never going to get it done.
 
If writing is what you want/have to do then you have to make the time to write. It’s that simple and that complicated. It all comes down to a balancing act. What is that time for writing worth? How much of something else are you willing to give up for your writing?
6 Comments »

  1. Laura W. Said:

    The real question is: how much of your sanity are you willing to sacrifice to make time to write? Hahahaha no. I’m not even kidding.

    Maybe adults (as in, graduated-from-college adults) have more time on their hands. After all, they only have to work from 9-5, right? And they can pretty much come home and eat dinner and not stay up until midnight doing homework or going to rehearsal, right? Unless they have kids, of course.

    Maybe that’s a childish view of the world, but I AM a college student. We have crazy schedules…I suppose I’ll be enlightened as to the mysteries of the scheduling of the adult world when—if—I grow up, but for now, I do most of my writing between 11pm and 3am. The insomnia helps…

    • Natasha T. Said:

      Ha ha ha ha… 18 credits a semester and hugely involved in clubs and a social life and I had more time to write than my 8-5 provides. Real life comes with real responsibilities, not just the ones added on by children.

      • Laura Said:

        I suppose you’re right. But I also took 23 credits my first semester of college, and 25 the next semester. I solemnly swear never to do that to myself again…

  2. Kids make finding writing time much more difficult than college does (in my experience). So I often write between 11pm and 3am, also. I make it happen (sleep be damned!) because I can’t imagine a life not writing.

    • Laura W. Said:

      I guess it also depends on how many credits you take/activities you’re involved in. Or how many kids you have, lol. I for one plan to write as much as possible before I have kids… :/

  3. […] Super Awesome BFF put up a post a while back titled “Writing isn’t for wusses“. […]


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

