I Quit My Job

Well, I guess more accurately, I put in my notice that my last day will be in August. I wanted to give my boss ample notice to find and get a replacement trained and create as little trouble for them as possible.

Why did I quit? Well, first and foremost to puruse my MFA. I begin my studies in August and did not feel that I could succeed with both at the same time, especially given that the school is at least 2 hours away from my job. I also know that I am going to need to devote as much time as I can to writing, learning and hopefully interning.

Putting in my notice was probably one of the hardest things I’ve ever done, but my boss and all of my coworkers have already proven to be so supportive and I am confident that I am leaving on good terms. The people I work with are amazing and I’ve learned a lot in the year I’ve been there. I’m sad to leave, but excited about the future.

Okay, excited and scared to death. I am really scared that I am making a mistake but for the first time in a long while I actually feel like I’m doing the right thing at the right time. I am petrified of what the future holds, but I feel confident enough to face it.

4 Comments »

  1. Leaving on good terms is always better than leaving on bad terms, though quitting a job is probably easier if your coworkers are total dorks.

    Still, quitting your job was probably the best thing to do if you want to dedicate yourself to your MFA, even if the loss of income sucks.

    • Yeah, it is worrysome! But I actually got a call yesterday right after I posted this to go interview for a student assistant position. It will still be a big cut in pay… but it’s more than I’d be making otherwise!

  2. Kate Said:

    Good for you, and good luck!

    • Thanks! It’s been a very scary process but I really feel like I’m heading in the right direction!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

