Lost and Found

So if you remember my post about not so common poetic devices and forms, you’ll remember the Found Poem. Well, I have a confession, I love Found Poetry.

Okay, first question you may have: What is it?

A found poem takes pieces of text from other places, whether it be from a news article, another poem, a speech, a letter, etc. and then the poet breaks those phrases and uses the text to create something new. Pieces and parts of The Wasteland contain bits of texts from other places.

To me, a Found Poem is like a ransom letter. It’s taking something else and putting it together into a new form.

I have an entire binder of articles, comments and random things printed out and hope to combine them into poems one day.

 

Have you ever written a Found Poem? Share it here!

1 Comment »

  1. Laura Said:

    I am terrible at these, actually. Maybe I need to practice…

    More to the point, I’ve given you the Liebster blog award! You can pick it up here: http://lauraplusthevoices.blogspot.com/2011/08/liebster-blog-award.html


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

