Writing When It Hurts

A lot of people (myself included) like to sit around and talk about writing, muse about all the ways to do it, about how hard it is, etc. But how much writing is really done that way? Does discussing how to plot a novel actually plot out your novel?

In most cases, no. It’s great to sit and talk about writing. It’s one of my favorite things to do, but I think sometimes it’s easy to get caught up in trying to prepare to write that you never write a thing. That is where I think I’ve been for a while now, working on getting ready to write, talking about it. But of all the hours spent on talking about writing, how many were spent actually writing?

Not enough.

So, lovely blog readers, I am making a promise to you, me and the universe at large that I am going to get my lazy butt back to writing something every day. Blog posts don’t count. Twitter posts don’t count. E-mails, journals, papers, school work don’t count either.

No, I’m not shutting down the blog, I love it far too much, and I still have way too much to say to stop now, but I am putting my focus back on creating, doing what I love. There’s a lot of BIG things coming up that I can’t mention just yet, but you’ll be thrilled when you see what’s coming.

Now, I want you to do the same thing. Stop procrastinating, stop thinking about something and go do it! There is no re-do button. Those hours spent just watching TV or playing Facebook games are hours you do not get back.

So, I leave you today with a quote that is now firmly taped to my wall right in front of my desk:

“Writing is the hardest work in the world. I have been a bricklayer and a truck driver, and I tell you – as if you haven’t been told a million times already – that writing is harder. Lonelier. And nobler and more enriching. ”
— Harlan Ellison

1 Comment »

  1. Love it! Thank you!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

