What is NaNoWriMo?

Ah, November is almost here. The smell of burning leaves, hot chocolate and… keyboards catching fire?

Yepp. November is also known as National Novel Writing Moth and the great people at the Office of Lights and Letters have organized the fantastic NaNoWrimo. The goal is simple: Starting at midnight on Oct. 31 aka November 1st, write 50,000 words.

Okay, honestly, 50,000 words isn’t technically a traditional novel (try closer to 75,000 to 120,000 words) but it’s a great start. Now, there are a lot of dissenting opinions on NaNoWriMo. I know a lot of people hate it, and a lot of people adore it.

Now, I’ve participated in Nanowrimo for at least the past 3 years, and I’ve completed it during the past 2 years. The first manuscript I finished for Nanowrimo is a horrid, sad little mess of a manuscript with characters named ‘Lord Alexis Perrigrew Tallon Exavier the Fifth’ because I needed the words, the plot is non-existent and is a strange mishmash of fight scenes, talking, and half-planned out ideas.

The second one is better plotted and would probably be a salvageable manuscript. I had a direction and knew the basic plot before the month began. However, I’ve yet to get the motivation to go back and re-work this manuscript.

Now, I think Nanowrimo gives you a great opportunity to write every day and have a wide support network. Nanowrimo reminds me that I can, and should be writing every day, not just when the ‘mood’ strikes me or when I have a deadline.

I know there is a lot of focus on word count which can decrease the quality of work, however sometimes you do just need to write and not worry about editing.

This year I’m worried about if I CAN make an attempt. With everything going on with classes, internships and other commitments I just don’t know if I have time. However, I am giving it a shot and going to work at writing every day.

Are you planning on participating in Nanowrimo? What do you think about it, helpful or a waste?

3 Comments »

  1. thegracefuldoe Said:

    This will be my third year participating. I love it! In the past two years it has taught me a LOT about time management and making time to write. It also taught me that the best way to get over writer’s block is to just keep writing. The quality isn’t always the best, but that’s what editing is for.

    • I think Nanowrimo is a great chance to learn how much you are capable of doing. Always reminds me I can make time to write every day.

  2. I’m not participating. I only found out what it was halfway through last year’s season, and I very much doubt I can find the time to do 1.7K words each day.

    Also, I have bad experience with “rushing” a story. Earlier this year I made a goal of writing 5K words each week until I finished my next novel. I trashed the entire manuscript after 6 weeks and went back to the drawing board. Due to the pace I was setting for myself I did not have the time to stand still, look at the story, and fix problems with its structure. The story was suffering, and I had already reached the midpoint after writing just 30K words (not good when your goal is 90K words).

    I only started writing on it again this week.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

