Opportunity + Preparation = Luck

A few months ago I posted about putting a ban on the word luck, and I’ve been done pretty well with keeping my word and owning what I’ve done. Recently I saw an incredible quote that finally summed up what I felt about luck. It’s from a Business Insider article, and is something that Betty Liu heard from her television coach.

“Opportunity + Preparation = Luck” (hence the blog post title, I’m so clever)

You can be in the exact right place and meet the exact right person but if you’re not prepared then it’s for nothing. Imagine meeting a Hollywood executive looking for his/her next big movie option, and runs into you. You don’t have a screenplay written, you’ve just got a kind of half-formed idea. Even though you’re in the right place, things probably aren’t going to work out for you because you’re not prepared.

Luck comes to people who work hard and put themselves into positions to luck out. You’re never going to just get lucky and land a new job in a different field by sitting at home and never learning those skills you need. You’re never going to just happen to sell the next Harry Potter sitting at home never writing.

You have to put in the time and effort for all the pieces to fall into place.

1 Comment »

  1. Chris Qualls Said:

    It’s the reason I went back to college. For one, I can’t be in a management position with the government on just an associate’s degree. And two, I realized there were gaps in my knowledge that needed filled if my novels were to ever be believable. This is a nose to the grindstone year, but putting in the work now to be in the position to have luck happen later is worth the sacrifice!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

